Monday, May 10, 2010

Philippine National Elections: May 2010

Barangay Paciano Rizal, Calamba, Laguna

This year's general elections is history-in-the-making because aside from electing the next president and vice president, votes would be counted automatically FOR THE VERY FIRST TIME using the precinct count optical scan (PCOS) machines (SmartMatic).

1 PM, May 10. 

Election day is peaceful (so far), thankfully. The day was really hot, but many people stayed to vote. In fact, when we joined the queue at 10 AM, the voters who came at 7 AM were just finishing up. Anna and I just took 2-1/2 hours to cast our votes because by the time we got there, the queues have become more organised. Five hundred twenty-nine votes were cast in Cluster Precinct 173,  where I voted.

1 AM, May 11.

Twelve hours after voting, here are the top results (in percent) from Cluster 173 (Precincts 479A, 479B, 480A, 480B, 480C):

President:                                  Aquino, Benigno Simeon III (45.82%)
Vice-President:                         Binay, Jejomar (53.65%)
  1. Estrada, Jinggoy (6.50%)       
  2. Revilla, Ramon Jr. (6.06%)               
  3. Drilon, Franklin (5.83%)                       
  4. Defensor-Santiago, Miriam (5.36%)    
  5. Enrile, Juan Ponce (5.23%)                                            
  6. Sotto, Vicente III (5.05%)                                        
  7. Cayetano, Pilar Juliana (4.80%)
  8. Marcos, Ferdinand Jr. (4.49%)
  9. Osmena, Sergio III (3.99%)
  10. Hontiveros-Baraquel, Ana (3.78%)
  11. Recto, Ralph (3.59%)
  12. Guingona, Teofisto III (3.47%)
Party-List:                                 Buhay Hayaan Yumabong (8.07%)
Congressman, 2nd District:       Chipeco, Justin (77.18%)
Governor:                                  Ejercito, Emilio (36.19%)
Vice-Governor:                         Mercado, Celso (32.04%)
Bokal, 2nd District:
  1. Unico, Juan (17.09%)
  2. Bagnes, Neptali (15.77%)
  3. Nocon, Neil Andrew (15.33%)
Mayor:                                       Chipeco, Joaquin (56.37%)
Vice-Mayor:                              Lajara, Severino (47.63%)
  1. Atienza, Santy (8.54%)
  2. Hernandez, Ruth (7.13%)
  3. Aldabe, Leeanne (5.92%)
  4. Pradas, Jose (5.90%)
  5. Catindig, Edgardo (5.59%)
  6. Morales, Moises (5.09%)
  7. Lajara, Christian Nino (4.82%)
  8. Contreras, Crispin (4.03%)
The queues might have been long, but the count moved along very fast. The values listed above came from the official results posted by the Commission of Elections in its website ( At the national level, 25% of all votes cast have been transmitted within two hours after the polls closed. That's a lot faster than I expected! 

If all goes at this rate, we might know who won the national elections tomorrow! Wow!!

1AM, May 13.

The COMELEC has earlier proclaimed ER Ejercito and Caesar Perez as governor-elect and vice governor-elect of Laguna, respectively. Joaquin Chipeco is still the mayor of Calamba City and Timmy Chipeco is still the congressman of Laguna's 2nd district. 

On the other hand, presidential candidates have all conceded to Noynoy Aquino except for Erap Estrada. Jejomar Binay has an unexpected lead against popular bet Mar Roxas for the vice president position. It looks like the count hasn't finished yet in other portions of the country. In short, still no president-elect and vice president-elect.